Laws of Motion

Home » Physics » Laws of Motion


Newton gave three laws governing the motion of bodies. We proceed with the statement of these three laws:

First Law: According to this law, a body continues to be in its state of rest or of uniform motion along a straight line, unless it is acted upon by some unbalanced external force to change the state.

This law can also be stated as under :

If no net force acts on a body, then the velocity of the body cannot change i.e. the body cannot accelerate.

Second Law: According to this law, the rate of change of linear momentum of a body is directly proportional to the external force applied on the body, and this change takes place always in the direction of the force applied.

This law can also be stated as under :

The net force on a body is equal to the product of mass of the body and acceleration of the body

Third Law: According to this law, to every action, there is always an equal and opposite reaction i.e. the forces of action and reaction are always equal and opposite.

This law can also be stated as under :

When two bodies interact, the forces on the bodies from each other are always equal in magnitude and opposite in direction.

Leave a Reply

NEET Chapter-wise Test Series for PCB

CBSE Term 2 Test Series for Class 9 to 12

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close